The Summer Sisters

  • Author Sara Richardson
  • Release Date July 6, 2021
  • Publisher Forever
  • ISBN/ASIN 9781538718254
  • Our Rating
  • Reviewed by Jo

Buy the Book

Our Review

THE SUMMER SISTERS is the second book in the JUNIPER SPRINGS series that takes place in a small mountain town in Colorado. Renovations are being made to the Juniper Inn, which is owned by the titular sisters’ aunt. The inn and the cottages play a strong role in the story, as does the small town. THE SUMMER SISTERS is told in alternating chapters by two of the three sisters, Rose and Dahlia, along with their aunt, Sassy. It was sometimes confusing to realize who was telling the story without looking at the chapter title again.

There are multiple stories being told in this novel. The characters have a depth to them as well as romance in the wings for both Rose and Dahlia. Happily married sister, Magnolia, has a newborn son and lives in Florida. Their mother, who’s estranged from her sister, Sassy, comes to town thinking Sassy is still on an extended vacation. Look out when their paths meet! Mom fits into the town better than her daughters expected. (Typically, Mom always knows best and has no problem letting others know what she’s thinking.)

The story is filled with family and friends, secrets, small town happenings, conflict, and of course, romance. It was fun to watch the sisters form bonds with their love interests. The romances take a backseat to the bonds of the sisters and their family, as they should. I enjoyed getting to know the sisters better since I had met them in the first book, HOME FOR THE HOLIDAYS. The story has closure but did end a bit too abruptly for me.

Ms. Richardson is an author of contemporary romances. I’ve enjoyed a few of them and have many more on my TBR pile. I look forward to reading them all.

Back to Top