Driftwood Bay

  • Author Irene Hannon
  • Release Date April 2, 2019
  • Publisher Revell
  • ISBN/ASIN 978-0800728816
  • Our Rating
  • Reviewed by Pat

Buy the Book

Our Review

DRIFTWOOD BAY by Irene Hannon shows the reader how different people (ages and nationalities) cope with their grief after losing a loved one. The story, while dealing with grief, tells a tale of friendship, love and compassion. Logan, a doctor, has moved to the town of Hope Harbor with his niece in order to try and establish a stable lifestyle for her. Logan is now responsible for raising his niece, Molly, after the death of his brother (Molly’s father) and his mother who Molly was living with while Logan dealt with the crazy hours of being a doctor. Now Logan is dealing with a better job situation, his niece who is having a hard time adjusting to the loss of her father and grandmother and a dog who is in the process of being house trained. Toby, the dog, has gotten into his neighbor’s yard and is ruining her lavender plants. Jeanette is the neighbor who runs a tea room and raises lavender which she uses for all kinds of projects. Jeanette is also dealing with loss by not really interacting with people. Logan becomes interested in Jeanette but she puts him off. Things start to happen when a family, also dealing with the death of loved ones, arrives from Syria and needs help with establishing themselves and Logan and Jeanette are some of the people who are helping them. Things come to a head when Molly and her new friend from Syria, Elisa, decide to go and find Molly’s happy place. Through it all there are people whose faith in God establishes a steadiness for all the problems to be dealt with. Although this book is a part of a series it definitely is a good stand alone book.

Back to Top