Bold Fortune (The Fortunes of Lost Lake Series)

  • Author M. M. Crane
  • Release Date December 28, 2021
  • Publisher Berkley
  • ISBN/ASIN 9780593335376
  • Our Rating
  • Reviewed by Jo

Buy the Book

Our Review

BOLD FORTUNE is set in the little town of Lost Lake, Alaska which is definitely off the grid. This is the first book in THE FORTUNES OF LOST LAKE series, and it held my interest from the first page to the last.

Violet is drawn to the area after she researches it to try and redeem herself with the institute that she works for back in San Francisco. Little does she know that she will fall in love with the wilderness, the quiet, and the people—but especially Quinn. She also finds her real self in the heart of winter while living in a dry shack, a summer shack, and even Quinn’s home all while Quinn is trying to send her back home.

The story moves at a fast pace. There are beautiful descriptions of the land, nature in all its glory, and the small, self-sufficient community. We can feel the cold, the snow,, and the wintry conditions throughout, though there are some steamy moments to heat up the pages.  

There is a depth to the characters that makes the story feel real, with some nice conflict between Quinn and Violet. The story ends with nice closure, but I can’t wait to return to Lost Lake and see what everyone is up to!

M. M. Crane is the pseudonym for Megan Crane, who also writes as Caitlin Crews. I’ve read books written under all her names and enjoyed them all. I look forward to reading more of her books, and not just those in this new series.

Recommended Read

Back to Top